Let’s Go Mets!

mets

It’s early October and I find myself in an unfamiliar position; cheering on the New York Mets in the baseball playoffs.  It has been nine long years since the Mets graced the postseason stage.  Back then I had only lived in Albany for a month and was still in my mid-twenties.  I can still picture Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals striking out Carlos Beltran to end game 7 of the National League Championship Series.  That pitch still haunts my dreams and breaks my heart.

Going into this season I thought that the Mets would finish around .500 and if a few things broke their way, perhaps challenge for a Wild Card playoff spot.  But then the Mets came along and blew away those expectations.  And it was nice to see the front office make the necessary moves needed in July to propel them to the point they are at now.  After years of belt tightening by management due to the Bernie Madoff scandal, perhaps the purse strings will continue to be loosened.

Through parts of August and September the Mets showed that they could be one of the better teams in baseball when everything is clicking.  I am hoping that for one more month they can be the best team in baseball and bring home that elusive World Series title; their first since 1986.

After the 2006 NLCS, I thought that the future was extremely bright for the Mets; but then they fell apart the next two seasons when they were poised to be one of the best teams in baseball.  The lesson I learned from that debacle was not to bank on making the postseason every season, even when you think that the team you are cheering on is an elite team.  So even though the future once again looks bright for the Mets, it is not guaranteed.  I’ll try to enjoy these playoffs as much as possible and hopefully with the Mets winning the championship.

Let’s Go Mets!

Leave a Reply

