Alyssa

Eleven years ago yesterday I lost my cousin Alyssa.  The rest of my family lost a daughter, granddaughter, sister, niece, cousin, and friend.  It was a shocking and horrific surprise.  She lost her life in a car accident. 

I can still remember the phone call from that morning we found out.  I was still in bed and was awoken by the cries of my Dad immediately after he answered the phone.  Up until this point in my life, I had never heard my Dad cry at all. 

For the next few weeks, months, and years we have all been in shock.  I can’t believe that it has been eleven years already.  I wish I could remember the last time I saw her before that horrific day.  I’m sure it was probably Christmas Day with the family.  All of us happy to see one another, but all the grandkids in their twenties, thinking about what we were going to do that night with their friends from home, not that this might be the last time we saw one another. 

In a day when everyone is more attached to the phone in their hand than the people that they love, I think it is important to let your loved ones know how you feel about them.  Because, unfortunately, everything can change in a flash and they might never truly know how you felt.  Alyssa, you will always be in my thoughts and in my heart.  I love you. 

Leave a Reply

