Let’s Go Irish

Tonight is the college football national championship game.  As an avid sports fan, I would watch this game no matter who is playing.  But tonight is completely different.  The Fighting Irish of Notre Dame are involved; and needless to say, I am pumped.

It has been twenty-five years since Notre Dame last played for a national title.  I was seven at the time.  I remember that they won it, some of the star players, and of course the coach Lou Holtz.  Since their last national title, I have followed Notre Dame football at a near religious level.

However, they have only come close to going back to the title game only twice.  In the same span of time, all of my other favorite sports teams have at least played for a championship.  Some even winning; not the Mets though, sadly and unfortunately.

The weeks leading up to this game, I have mostly been subdued about watching.  As the time draws near, my anticipation has risen.  I am not quite sure what to expect or how I will react; since this is my first time watching them play for a title.  I imagine it will go as the rest of the championship games involving my favorite teams have gone.  Me sitting on the edge of my seat, hanging on every play, cursing, and yelling at the television.  Either tomorrow I will be extremely ecstatic or severely down.  Though I shouldn’t be down, as Notre Dame making the championship came out of nowhere and they have far exceeded expectations this year.  It is games like this that I think take years off of my life.  But I love it anyway.  Go Irish!

Leave a comment